• Blog Stats

    • 76,817 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Song for Brit exiters

Dear Reader,

It has come to my attention that the general public have voted for the UK to leave the EU. Myself and others hold the view that the public was lied to by the leave side who told were dishonest about a range of things including the amount of money they could transfer to the NHS by quitting the EU.

I am also shocked that in some poor areas of the UK that many people voted to leave, their reaction was something along the lines of “We are leaving the EU, but we will still keep our EU subsidy”. To my mind it is a totally crazy idea, it would be like me going to see my head of department having a flaming row with him, then quitting and then expecting to continue to collect my salary from where I work.

Now it gets a bit worse, I have heard reports of Poles being subjected to racial abuse. I hold the view that without the Poles the UK might well have lost world war two. Two major issues spring to mind, while Alan Turing broke the German enigma code he broke an advanced version of it. The Polish code breakers had already broken an earlier version of it. The Poles provided details of how they did it to the British, this would have been a great help for the British code breakers.

Also a large number of brave Poles flew combat missions for the RAF in spitfires and hurricanes during the battle of Britain along with Czechs and Slovaks. To my mind their courage in defending someone else’s home land is a beautiful thing which should be admired. I am having difficulty writing this post right now as I feel the strong emotion of admiration welling up inside me. The idea of these brave men risking their lives for strangers is truly a noble thing.

I have lived in the Czech Republic, and I can tell you it is a land of great beauty in which I got to know many very fine people. I country in which I learned a lot about what freedom truly means.

My reaction to people abusing Poles brings me great distress, I was also displeased to discover that a cultural centre built in memory of these men has been vandalized. My latest disgusting shock was when I discovered a group of men in Drury Lane had been singing a song expressing their hatred of Poles and gays. I will not be repeating this vile song here. But here is my suggestion for Brit-Exiters to sing.

Rule Britannia!
Britannia rules the waves!
First we left the EU
Now we shall truly pay !

Rule Britannia!
Britannia rules the waves!
Out of folly we chose to leave
Now we shall truly pay !

Rule Britannia!
Britannia rules the waves!
We threw away our best chance
Now we shall truly pay !

Regarding the idea of a UK without the gay community, I think it would be deeply wrong and a bad idea to persecute or try to get rid of this fraction of society. Now we should not pretend that all gays and lesbians are geniuses or are super talented. But the idea of a UK turning its back on the likes of Francis Bacon, Robert Rinder QC and Alan Turing is truly stupid.

It is suspected that Alan Turing’s code breaking work had a great effect on world war two. If we ignore the moral issues associated with excluding homosexuals from public life or even the UK as a whole, the idea of getting rid of the gay community is about as clever and logical as the idea of a UK without heterosexuals, biologists, people with brown hair, brown bread eaters or people who know how to drive manual transmission cars.

Go on, Have your say !

