• Blog Stats

    • 76,804 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Oh so crazy

Dear Reader,

Sometimes I find things which are so far out that they need to be commented on as they are so totally crazy. The latest way to push the crazy envelope is the research of a postgrad in Lagos who claims to have used his understanding of magnets to prove that homosexuality is immoral.

I was stunned when I saw this, to my mind it is a totally crazy idea. I would like to ask if the fact that it is possible to bond two atoms of the same element together (elemental chlorine is Cl-Cl) proves that homosexuality is not abnormal. I would say it does not prove that homosexuality is immoral or not, the great problem that Mr Amalaha has failed to consider is that magnets, photons, molecules and atoms are amoral.

The molecules in a flask in my lab do not care what my sexual orientation or moral state is, I could be the most immoral person in the world (doing things which I dare not describe on this blog as it is a family show) but the chemicals in my lab (and the magnets in the lab also) would behave the same way as if I was the most moral and upright person in the whole world.

Some years ago the late Eric Laithwaite wrote a book on electrical machines which I read, he considered the following. Take a bar magnet, then attach two paper clips to it at one end. Then to these paper clips attach two more. The induced magnetic poles should repel each other. But it is possible to add a 5th clip which links the two strings of clips together. This last clip stays there as it improves the magnetic circuit. I would like to know if Mr Amalaha is able to explain the moral state of this magnetic experiment. This experiment at first glance suggests that like poles attract (but there is more to it than first appears). I think that his ideas are as stupid as they are offensive.

A magnetic experiment written about by Eric Laithwaite

A magnetic experiment written about by Eric Laithwaite

It is stupid to try to use the laws of nature to prove if something is moral or immoral, nature does not care about morals.

5 Responses

  1. Probably before your time in Sweden, but the following clip is from a debate in Riksdagen about the legalization of “Registrerat partnerskap” (an earlier version of gay marriage) when a member of the party Ny Demokrati added his five cents to the debate:

    By the way, playing with Neodynium magnets is a good cure against the notion by those who believe in Intelligent Design that complex patterns in nature do not evolve spontaneously.

    • Who is the man in the film and what is he doing thesedays ?

      • Here you find more information about his career:
        http://sv.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Bouvin

  2. When I saw this, my first thought was how ridiculous it was. But then I wondered if it was attempted as satire. If not, then I wonder how Mr Amalaha would react if it was pointed out that he appears to have justified necrophilia (because living people are different to dead people, and so should be attracted to them, not to other living people), bestiality (because humans are different to animals, and so should be attracted to them, not to other humans), dandophilia (because humans are different to plants, and should be attracted to them, not to other plants) and probably any other sexual behavior that he would have decried as abnormal.

    A bit like people who think the monogamous behaviour of penguins is a clear demonstration by nature of what’s right, who conveniently overlook the counter-example of the mallard duck.

    • Well I had not considered the idea of the magnet study being applied to the pairing of humans with plants, while a sexual attraction of a person towards a plant is not impossible I think it would be deeply disturbing. Something which I would rather not consider.

Go on, Have your say !

