• Blog Stats

    • 76,817 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Pussy riot and their punk prayer

Dear Reader,

It has come to my attention that a group of radical feminist punks who call themselves “Pussy Riot” have done a punk song inside a church in Russia. This rather shocking film has appeared on youtube where these punks do their song in the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour in Moscow. One web site claims to have a translation of the song, I have to warn you it has rather colourful langauge (disgusting swearwords).

Now I have to confess that I do not like punk rock music, but if pussy riot want to sing songs about Putin then they can do so but only if they do it in a place where they are legally allowed to do so. I have discussed this case with my legal advisor who has said that the Russian authorities are quite right to treat this “punk prayer” as a serious breach of public order.

The punk prayer is an act which is likely to have outraged public decency in Russia to the same degree as the people who used british war memorials as toilets in the UK. One student was lucky to avoid prison for such a crime. It is noteworthy that the Cathedral of Christ the Saviour is a war memorial, the original building was blown up by the communists but it was rebuilt in the 1990s.

While the words of the church might be a bit shocking to many people, I do think that the members of Pussy Riot need to refrain from illegally using churchs for political stunts.

The church asked the faithful to pray for for “the correction of the defilers of holy shrines and the good name of the Church” and the “enlightenment of those left in the dark.”

This is not asking for their punishment or eternal damnation, it is a expression of a hope that Pussy Riot and other like minded people will learn not to do it again.

I think we need to think for a moment about human rights.

In my 20s I went to Brno and fell in love with the Czech Republic it is a wonderful place where I see people enjoying freedom and living their lives. One document which I admire for its beauty is the Czech “Charter of Fundamental Rights and Basic Freedoms” which is a written declaration of human rights in the Czech republic.

I will not be displaying the full text here but here is taste of it.

Article 3

(1) Everyone is guaranteed the enjoyment of her fundamental rights and basic freedoms without regard to gender, race, color of skin, language, faith and religion, political or other conviction, national or social origin, membership in a national or ethnic minority, property, birth, or other status.

Article 15

(1) The freedom of thought, conscience, and religious conviction is guaranteed. Everyone has the right to change her religion or faith or to be non-denominational.

Article 16

(1) Everyone has the right freely to manifest her religion or faith, either alone or in community with others, in private or public, through worship, teaching, practice, and observance.

My mind is that if Pussy Riot want to be atheists under article 15 then that is their choice, but their actions may well have interfered with the rights (article 16) of other people. The great problem I see is that a thoughtless or antisocial exercise of “my rights” may harm the interests of others and infringe their rights. We all need to excercise our rights in a responsible way !

Go on, Have your say !

