• Blog Stats

    • 73,666 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 152 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

More on the odd geometry

Dear Reader,

The saga of the odd geometry continues, I was going to try to work out a correction for different distances between the radionuclide (photon emitter) and the detector. But then I decided that a better way is to use the fact that the special geometry chosen allows us to ignore the absolute distance between the source and the detector.

I then did some calculations based on the idea of having an infinite cylinder (infinite in length) of water which is surrounded by a coaxial detector (a super long NaI well detector). Again we are using our special isotope which emits photons only in limited angles. The angle which I have chosen is perpendicular to the axis of the cylinder.

By the way the word perpendicular is a word with some funny cultural baggage. In the delightful film “Kind Hearts and Coronets” the antihero of the film is visiting the clergyman (Reverend Lord Henry D’Ascoyne). The antihero (Louis disguised as a clergyman) makes a comment about church architecture about the “early perpendicular era”. At the time I thought it was Louis making a joke about a totally made up movement in church architecture, but then I discovered that the perpendicular style was a part of the gothic time. So while you might have come to this blog to read about my thoughts on chemistry, nuclear and radiological matters you can also read here about english black comedy films and church architecture.

But for those of you who came here only for my thoughts on counting of cesium-137 in humans, here is the graph of the fraction of the photons which can escape from the 14.5 cm radius cylinder as a function of the distance of the point source from the axis of the cylinder.

The graph you have been waiting for !

As you should be able to see as the source is moved towards the surface of the cylinder more and more photons are able to escape from the cylinder. As the cesium in a human is spread out over the whole of the torso it will be more easy to count the cesium in a human than it would have been if the cesium was concentrated at the centre of the torso in a point source.

I will start the 3D calculations, but in the words of “deep thought”, this will take me some time.

Go on, Have your say !

