• Blog Stats

    • 76,905 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Prussian Blue the band

Dear Reader,

Now I have to confess that I rather like Prussian Blue, bear in mind that I am not expressing a liking for the rock band. It is important to understand that the rock band has nothing to do with the cesium chemistry or my chemical interests. I am rather glad that the twin girls are recanting the views they expressed as children but sadly they have not totally changed their views. It reminds me of a case of some neo-nazis in Israel, the prime minister is reported as having said.

I am sure that there is not a person in Israel who can remain indifferent to these scenes, which indicate that we too as a society have failed in the education of these youths

I think that part of the problem relates to the way in which the two girls were schooled at home, while I am not anti-home schooling I do think that parents who want to educate their children at home need to show that they are intellectually and morally fit to act as the educators for their children.

Many years ago an retired RAF officer explained to me how the negative vetting system worked, he said that any political affiliation more right wing than the conservative party or more left wing than the labour part would be a barrier to a person passing vetting. For example a member of the communist party or the national front would be viewed as being less trustworthy than a member of the labour, liberal or conservative party. This RAF officer was talking about the vetting which relates to military matters (code books, air defense radar and other sensitive matters), but as a society we need to consider should any similar restriction apply to civilian work which is unrelated to the military.

For example should we allow a person who is a member of a right wing racist or a far left communist organisation to be a

Prison officer

School teacher

University teacher

Housing officer

My own personal view is that the death of Zahid Mubarek strongly suggests that a racist person is not fit to work as a prison officer, while I am not so sure of what rules should be applied to an educator or a housing officer.

Also should political extremists be banned from homeschooling their children ?

If any of my readers have any thoughts on the subject which they would like to share then please add a commnet.

Go on, Have your say !

