• Blog Stats

    • 77,570 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Cats and dogs in Japan

It has come to my attention that in addition to the suffering of the humans and the radioactive contamination of the land, air and sea that pets are suffering in the 30 km zone around the stricken nuclear power company.

I would like to know what is being done to rescue these animals, I would not like to see humans put into serious harm’s way while rescuing animals but I do want to ask what could be done to protect these cats and dogs from harm. I would like to know if TEPCO have considered putting out bowels of dog and cat food to try to stop these animals starving.

I think that while the rescuing of humans will be the most important goal, the dogs and cats should where possible be recovered from the 30 km zone. One thing I would want to do is to note the location where each animal was found, then when the animal goes to the vet for the check up get a blood sample from each cat or dog, the reason is that by looking at blood samples it is possible in humans to get an estimate of the dose which they have had.

These blood test results could be of great interest, as it would give us an idea of the total dose in each part of the 30 km zone. I am assuming that the dogs and cats do not stray too far from where their owners left them. Even if the majority of the blood samples are not instantly examined it could be useful to have them in a freezer somewhere waiting for someone to make use of them.

http://www.lifewithcats.tv/2011/04/20/fukushima-cat-and-dog-rescue-in-photos-and-video-part-1/

One Response

  1. Maybe they can answer your questions at http://jears.org/ ?

    “The founding partners are:

    David Wybenga and Susan Roberts of Japan Cat Network
    Susan Mercer of HEART-Tokushima
    Isabella Gallaon-Aoki of Animal Friends Niigata

    David Wybenga – JEARS, co-founder. Email: david@jears.org

    Lotta

Go on, Have your say !

