• Blog Stats

    • 74,490 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 156 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Countermesures against cesium, the need for a map

Some of the cesium from the nuclear power plant in Japan has escaped from the plant, I am not going to pretend that this is not good news. I would be insulting your intelligence if I was to claim that radioactive cesium was a good thing.

One of my concerns is what will happen to the farming community, I am aware that the Japanese government have imposed bans on the sale of some foods which have been grown in some parts of Japan. I feel sorry for the farmer who can not sell his/her crop, while farmers do not farm for the pure joy of it I imagine most farmers would feel sad if they were told to destroy their crop or hand it in for disposal even if they were being compensated.

I think that it is too early in the accident to have a decent map of cesium contamination, one of the actions towards recovery will be the creation of a detailed map of cesium (and other radioactive) contamination. This would be a map of the total amount of the Cs-137 in Bq per square meter.

The cesium maps will help society recover. The people who live and work in the 30 km evacuation zone will not want to stay away from their homes, schools and livelihoods for ever.

I hold the view that a contamination map will allow society to make good choices.

I hold a view that the land in the 30 km zone should be sorted into four types of area.

1. Areas in which contamination is so low that the land can be used for its original purpose without any remedial action.

2. Areas of land where easy, cheap and minor remedial actions will allow the land to be reused for its normal purpose.

3. Areas of land where difficult, expensive and major remedial actions will allow the land to be reused for its normal purpose.

4. Areas of land where it is impossible to clean up the land to the point at which it can be used for its original purpose.

When land falls into classes 3 and 4 then I hold the view that a change of use of the land should be considered. If the contamination level on land is too high to allow the normal food crop to be grown then sometimes an alternative food or non-food crop can be grown. While a farmer might not be overjoyed about not being able to grow the crop his father and grandfather grew on the land, I think that being able to grow an alternative crop will make a farmer’s life better than paying him to sit on his backside and not grow anything.

Where the land falls into classes 2 and 3 then I see a need for action to be taken. I will tell you soon about some of the steps which can help reduce the effects of the accident.

Go on, Have your say !

