• Blog Stats

    • 75,866 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 156 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Betadine

One of my readers in the far east has reported to me that members of the general public have been applying betadine to their skin in an attempt to protect themselves from radiation from the stricken nuclear plant in Japan.

As a chemist I hold the view that this application of antiseptic is unlikely to have a useful effect, the betadine contains iodine but as each week goes by the amount of radioactive iodine-131 which could leak out of the reactor site will decline by 50%. So as time goes by the iodine threat will become less and less.

The other major threat from the reactor accident is the cesium; I can tell you that no form of iodine will protect you from the effects of the cesium radioisotopes.

The interesting thing about betadine is that it is a form of iodine which is designed to be less available to human tissues than other forms of iodine, so compared with other iodine preparations I hold the view that it is a bad choice if you want to block the action of radioactive iodine on the thyroid.

I hold the view that the best substance for blocking the absorption of radioactive iodine in the thyroid is potassium iodide when taken orally, I have seen on sale a “vegan” grade of elemental iodine in solution which is intended to act as a protective agent against radioactive iodine. While biology is not my strongest point I will say that sea-weed and mineral deposits are definitely not from the animal kingdom. So any vegans who have made a moral choice to refuse to eat (or use) animal products should be able to use normal potassium iodide or iodine extracted from either sea-weed or a mineral deposit with a clean conscience.

Unless there is some hidden animal product used by industry for the extraction of iodine / potassium iodide then to my mind “vegan iodine” is like “vegan potatoes”. If any vegans are reading this blog then please do let me know if you have any evidence to suggest that an animal product is being used in the production of potassium iodide, iodine or “iodine pills”.

The original isolation of elemental iodine was from sea weed, this was done years ago in the days of Sir Humphrey Davy (The man who invented the miners’ safety lamp), I imagine right now that the vast majority of iodine and potassium iodide is extracted from a mineral deposit. I will have to check my trusty copy of “Cotton and Wilkinson” to check where the majority of the iodine which the world needs comes from.

I thought long and hard about what is betadine, betadine is a complex between protonated poly vinylpyrrolidinone (PVP) and the polyiodine anions which are formed by the reaction of elemental iodine with iodide. It is interesting that elemental iodine has a great ability to react with halides to form polyhalogen anions such as the I3 anion. Some of these polyhalogen anions can be stabilised by polymers such as the PVP in betadine and starch to form interesting complexes. I looked in the Cambridge crystallographic database and I found a series of polysaccharides which associate with poly iodides, these may well be good models for the famous deep blue reaction product of iodine with starch.

2 Responses

  1. The two major producers of iodine in the world are Chile and Japan. There are significant sources in several countries including the USA. The Chilean source is from iodates in tailings of surface mining for nitrates. The Japanese source is from brines associated with natural gas wells. The iodine is found as iodide.

    • Thanks Jim,

      Sounds like neither source of iodine has been part of an animal in the recent past (geological timescale) so it suggests to me that all iodine solutions are suitable for vegans.

      I do question the logic of butting a vegan label on a chemical which has nothing to do with animals, but a few chemicals and lab items are made using animal products such as gelatine. For example I have made reference electrodes using gelatine to make the salt bridge

Go on, Have your say !

