• Blog Stats

    • 75,765 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 156 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

What is zeolite

Now I imagine that some of you are asking the question of why are the workers in Japan using sacks of zeolite rather than cheap beach sand. The reason is that the zeolite is an ion exchanger. I have not seen in the news from TEPCO what type of zeolite they are using but I know in the nuclear industry that clinoptilolite is a zeolite which can be used to remove cesium and strontium from waste water.

I looked in the inorganic data base for clinoptilolite, so it will be time to put on your “diffractospecs” soon and have a look at the arrangement of the atoms. The thing you need to understand is that a zeolite has a negatively charged cage of oxygen, aluminium and silicon atoms. To remain neutral the cage must have some positively charged ions inside the holes in the cage.

The clever thing is that the ions can be exchanged, this the way in which zeolites are often used for making hard water soft and cleaning up wastes.

One Response

  1. Right on Mark! This is focusing on the solution rather than the problem. People experiencing radiation sickness or seeking protection may use this substance internally in a liquid or powdered form. It was used to clean up the Chernobyl mess about 50 years ago.

    Mark replies, commonly for internal contamination of humans and farm yard animals prussian blue is used. But the zeolite is an important tool for the management of the cesium and strontium. Zeolite is used in places like the Sellafield waste water treatment plant to prevent the escape of these metals.

    However after looking at your web site I think that you may be crediting zeolites with good effects which are not proven. Please send me some evidence to show how zeolite treatment can reverse the effects of X-ray exposure. I would be very interested to see such evidence.

    The idea of liquid zeolite is new to me, zeolites work becuase they have a solid cage which has a negative charge. Please explain what exactly do you mean by “liquid zeolite”.

Go on, Have your say !

