• Blog Stats

    • 75,243 hits
  • Archives

  • Enter your email address to subscribe to this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

    Join 157 other followers

  • Copyright notice

    This blog entry and all other text on this blog is copyrighted, you are free to read it, discuss it with friends, co-workers and anyone else who will pay attention.

    If you want to cite this blog article or quote from it in a not for profit website or blog then please feel free to do so as long as you provide a link back to this blog article.

    If as a school teacher or university teacher you wish to use content from my blog for the education of students then you may do so as long as the teaching materials produced from my blogged writings are not distributed for profit to others. Also at University level I ask that you provide a link to my blog to the students.

    If you want to quote from this blog in an academic paper published in an academic journal then please contact me before you submit your paper to enable us to discuss the matter.

    If you wish to reuse my text in a way where you will be making a profit (however small) please contact me before you do so, and we can discuss the licensing of the content.

    If you want to contact me then please do so by e-mailing me at Chalmers University of Technology, I am quite easy to find there as I am the only person with the surname “foreman” working at Chalmers. An alternative method of contacting me is to leave a comment on a blog article. If you do not know which one to comment on then just pick one at random, please include your email in the comment so I can contact you.

Why do we hear so much about isotopes such as Cs-137, I-131 and Te-132

OK I imagine that the news has a lot on the subject of iodine, cesium and tellurium. Some of my readers will know that the isotopes which I mentioned in the title are fission products from uranium.

But some of you will ask why are they a bit on the heavy side, uranium-235 has a mass of 235 amu, if we assume that a neutron makes it split and that 3 neutrons are given out by the fission process then we should have 234 amu of fission products. I imagine that some of you have a GCSE in maths (in actual fact primary school maths should do the trick) and will understand that half of 234 is equal to 100 + 15 + 2 = 100 + 17 = 117.

Some of you might have noticed that isotopes with masses of about 117 seem to be absent from the news, for such a mass I would expect that the stable isotope would be somewhere around about tin in the periodic table.

Now I will have to admit that some isotopes are of special interest because of their half lives, chemistry or biology. But it is a case that the yield of isotopes right in the middle of the weight range is very poor.

What happens to a uranium-235 atom is that it absorbs a neutron and forms an excited state of uranium-236. This excited state of uranium-236 can either lose its energy through the emission of gamma rays or it can split into two parts.

When the energy of the excited state is low then it is normal for the uranium to split into two very unequal sized fragments. This is why we have two peaks in the fission yield against mass graph.

In the case of a very high energy excited state which undergoes fission it forms two equal sized lumps. When uranium is bombarded with fast neutrons then the yield for these isotopes which lie in the middle of this bathtub shaped graph increase because the energy of the excited state which undergoes nuclear fission is now higher. For a super heavy isotope which undergoes spontaneous fission I would always expect a far higher yield of these isotopes which are in the valley than I would in a normal power reactor.

Go on, Have your say !

